We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies
Latest News
4/13/2022 12:00:00 AM

Players to have netted Nedbank Cup semifinal goals in the past

PIC: Victor Letsoalo dives in to score for Bloemfontein Celtic in 2020

No player has scored more than two goals in the Nedbank Cup semifinals since the competition was first played in 2008, but there have been some memorable performances to enjoy. 

Ten players have managed to score twice at this stage of the competition, some in a single game and others in two or more semifinals played. This includes two such instances in 2020.

Bloemfontein Celtic’s Victor Letsoalo netted twice in the 3-0 victory over his former team Baroka FC that saw his side into their first Nedbank Cup final in 2020.

He will be desperate to add to that tally for Royal AM this season when he lines up against Mamelodi Sundowns. 

Brazilians striker Kermit Erasmus scored a brace in a Nedbank Cup final for Orlando Pirates in 2014, but both of his semifinal goals came in the colours of SuperSport United.

He will also be looking for some more semifinal joy having gone on a good run of scoring of late, this time in the colours of Sundowns.

And Zimbabwe international striker Terrence Dzvukamanja netted twice for BidVest Wits two years ago, but they ended up on the losing side as they went down 3-2 to Sundowns.

Mark Haskins netted a semifinal brace for Wits against Free State Stars as they lifted the trophy in 2010, while Stars have a brace of their own as Harris Tchilimbou took them into the 2018 decider that they won against Maritzburg United.

Luvoyo Memela (Pirates), Thobani Mncwango (Baroka FC), Thuso Phala and Sibusiso Zuma (both SuperSport United) have also managed two goals in the semis, while Zakhele Lepasa’s brace famously helped second-tier TS Galaxy stun Lamontville Golden Arrows in 2019. 

In all, 65 players have scored in the Nedbank Cup semifinals, at the right end at least, with a further two own goals by the unfortunate Mario Booysen (Maritzburg United) and Lucky Mohomi (Free State Stars).

Among this year’s potential semifinalists, Sundowns also have six players with a single semifinal goal, though Mosa Lebusa (Ajax Cape Town), Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United), George Maluleka (Kaizer Chiefs) and Sibusiso Vilakazi (BidVest Wits) scored for other clubs. 

Gaston Sirino and Lyle Lakay are the others among The Brazilians’ scorers in the famous yellow jerseys.

Royal AM have a few semifinal scorers themselves aside from Letsoalo, including one player who netted at this stage for Sundowns! Brazilian defender Ricardo Nascimento spent a number of years at Chloorkop but left the club in January for Royal AM.

Veteran forward Ndumiso Mabena is another after he netted for Celtic in 2020.

Neither TTm or Marumo Gallants have anyone on their squads who have scored at this stage of the competition before.




2 goals - Terrence Dzvukamanja (BidVest Wits), Kermit Erasmus (SuperSport United), Mark Haskins (Bidvest Wits), Luvoyo Memela (Orlando Pirates), Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy), Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic), Thobani Mncwango (Baroka FC), Thuso Phala (SuperSport United), Harris Tchilimbou (Free State Stars), Sibusiso Zuma (SuperSport United)

1 - Igor Alves (Moroka Swallows), Andriamirado Andrianarimanana (Kaizer Chiefs), Marawaan Bantam (Bidvest Wits), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Sandile Gumede (AmaZulu), Richard Henyekane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nhlanhla Kubheka (Ajax Cape Town), Mxolisi Kunene (Maritzburg United), Lyle Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns), George Lebese (Kaizer Chiefs), Mosa Lebusa (Ajax Cape Town), Ndumiso Mabena (Bloemfontein Celtic), Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg United), Lehlohonolo Majoro (Kaizer Chiefs), Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mpho Makola (Orlando Pirates), George Maluleka (Kaizer Chiefs), Jabulani Maluleke (Black Leopards), Terrence Mandaza (Maritzburg United), Lerato Manzini (Chippa United), Walter Maponyane (United FC), Mzikayise Mashaba (Mamelodi Sundowns), Andile Mbenyane (Chippa United), Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates), Manti Moholo (University of Pretoria), Lucky Mohomi (Free State Stars), Lebohang Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tashreeq Morris (Ajax Cape Town), Katlego Mphela (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabani Mthembu (Platinum Stars), Sandile Mthethwa (Chippa United), Clifford Mulenga (SuperSport United), Kabamba Musasa (Mpumalanga Black Aces), Nyasha Mushekwi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Knox Mutizwa (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Ricardo Nascimento (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Ngcepe (Moroka Swallows), Sthembiso Ngcobo (BidVest Wits), Kingston Nkhatha (Free State Stars), Thabiso Nkoana (SuperSport United), Ayanda Nkosi (Free State Stars), Esrom Nyandoro (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Rodney Ramagalela (Black Leopards), Tlou Segolela (Orlando Pirates), Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tintswalo Tshabalala (Platinum Stars), Sibusiso Vilakazi (BidVest Wits), Vincent Xakane (Black Leopards), Mthokozisi Yende (University of Pretoria), Sandile Zuke (TS Galaxy), Dumisani Zuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

Own goals - Mario Booysen (Maritzburg United), Lucky Mohomi (Free State Stars)