We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies
Latest News
5/8/2021 12:00:00 AM

TTM win Nedbank Cup final against Chippa United

PIC: TTM-with-trophy.jpg
Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila won the Nedbank Cup in their first season in the top flight of South African football and secured a place in African club competition for the first time after beating Chippa United 1-0 in Saturday’s final at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.
The Polokwane-based club have come through a tumultuous year of a change of ownership, and a move from Thohoyandou to the Limpopo capital, to claim a first piece of major silverware as the diminutive Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo scored the only goal of the game.
His long range shot in the 27th minute took a wicked deflection off Chippa captain Frederick Nsabiyumva to bear Ismail Watenga in the Chippa goal for the only goal of the game.
It handed the club a massive R7-milliion first prize and a berth in the next African Confederation Cup, where they will be able to pit their strength against opposition from around the continent.
It was also a first major triumph for TTM coach Dylan Kerr, who has had a journeyman career in the Premier Soccer League.
Chippa looked to get back into the contest and almost had an equaliser before half-time through Thabiso Lebitso.
But it was TTM who started the second period stronger with opportunities for Lerato Lamola and Celimpilo Ngema, who could not finish
Chippa’s best second half chance fell to substitute Brandon Theron but it was Thabo Mnyamane who came closest to making it 2-0 as his shot brought about a stunning save from Watenga.
''We are going to elaborate but the boys will be in bed by 10pm,” said Kerr, whose side now turned their attention a battle against the possibility of relegation.
Saturday, May 8
Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila 1 (Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo 27’) Chippa United 0
Matches Played: 31
Goals Scored: 80
Biggest Victory:Cape Town City 4 Bloemfontein Celtic 0 (Feb. 6, Last 32); Mamelodi Sundowns 4 Polokwane City 0 (Mar. 10, Last 16)
Most Goals in a Game:6 – Cape Town All Stars 3 Cape Town Spurs 3 (Feb. 26, Last 16)
4 goals – Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)
3–Waseem Isaacs (Cape Town All Stars), Tashreeq Morris (Cape Town City),
2-Lesedi Kapinga (Mamelodi Sundowns), Ovidy Karuru (Black Leopards), Pogiso Mahlangu (Pretoria Callies), Khanyisa Mayo (Richards Bay), Thabo Mnyamane (TTM), Siyabonga Vilane (Richards Bay)
1-Abdul Ajagun (Cape Town City), Mohamed Anas (Black Leopards), Junior Batista (Cape Town Spurs), Leonardo Castro (Kaizer Chiefs), Decide Chauke (TS Sporting), Themba Chauke (Polokwane City), Jaisen Clifford (Cape Town All Stars), Ashley Cupido (Cape Town Spurs), Kabelo Dlamini (Orlando Pirates), Ashley du Preez (Stellenbosch FC), Thabani Dube (Richards Bay), Bienvenu Eva Nga (Chippa United), Michael Gumede (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Riaan Hanamub (Chippa United), Sibusiso Hlubi (Maritzburg United), Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates), Igor (Cape Town Spurs), Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United), Anthony Laffor (Chippa United), Augustine Kwem (Chippa United), Ronaldo Maarman (Cape Town All Stars), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kamohelo Mahlatsi (Swallows FC), Lehlohonolo Majoro (AmaZulu), Lerato Manzini, Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (both TTM), Pule Maraisane (Cape Town All Stars), Andile Mbenyane (Chippa United), Sibusiso Mbonani (Sekhukhune United), Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC), Ndiviwe Mdabuka (Cape Town All Stars), Vuyo Mere (Swallows FC), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates), Tebogo Mohlamonyane (University of Pretoria), Train Mokhabi (JDR Stars), Maloisane Mokhele (Chippa United), Sandile Mthethwa (Chippa United), Ayanda Mvambi (Bizana Pondo Chiefs), Phathutshedzo Nange (Stellenbosch FC), Alfred Ndengane (TTM), Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (TTM), Innocent Nemukondeni (JDR Stars), Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City), Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates), Sipho Sibiya (Swallows FC), Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mpho Sitayitayi (Pretoria Callies), Abdel Suanon (Free State Stars), Rankoko Tau (Free State Stars), Puleng Tlolane (Polokwane City), Tebogo Tlolane (Maritzburg United), Zaahir Witbooi (Cape Town All Stars), Khethukuthula Zwane (Jomo Cosmos), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Own goal– Thabo Makhele (Cape Town All Stars)