We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies
Latest News
3/13/2022 12:00:00 AM

Baroka and Dynamos complete Nedbank Cup quarterfinal line-up

PIC: Orebotse Mongae of TS Galaxy

Baroka FC sealed their place in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals after a 5-3 penalty shoot-out victory over 2019 winners TS Galaxy at the Mbombela Stadium on Sunday. 

The teams played to a 1-1 draw before Richard Mbulu scored the decisive kick in the shoot-out after Sihle Nduli had blazed his effort over the crossbar for the home side. 

It is the fifth time in eight attempts that Baroka have made the quarters, but better than that have the distinction of winning a semifinal place as a third-tier (2011), second-tier (2016) and top-tier (2020) club, without ever progressing to the final.

The two sides met in the league last weekend and it was Baroka who came out on top in that encounter with a 1-0 win.

And they took the lead again in this encounter after being awarded a penalty just past the half-hour mark that was converted by Sekela Sithole.

Galaxy took the game to them after that and equalised after a piece of good fortune as Sipho Maluleke scored a remarkable own goal on his Baroka debut.

The cross was swung in and he got his head to the ball, but succeeded only in beating his own goalkeeper with a 15-yard effort that arrowed into the net.

The match went to extra-time, during which both teams wilted as their energy levels  dropped. Penalties became inevitable.

Meanwhile, Summerfield Dynamos became the first third-tier team into the quarterfinals since Baroka FC in 2011 as they edged fellow ABC Motsepe League side Black Eagles 1-0 at the Chatsworth Stadium. 

They had goalkeeper Bongani Masoga to thanks for getting them to extra-time after he saved a penalty from Olwethu Ncube in the third minute of injury-time at the end of the game.

Masoga got down low to his right to claw the ball away in what was a tight 90 minutes with few chances at either end.

But the breakthrough came just two minutes into extra-time as the unfortunate former TS Galaxy defender Tumelo Bodibe turned the ball into his own net, nutmegging his goalkeeper in the process.

The win is an excellent one for coach Clinton Larsen, who is no stranger to the big-time in South African football and will be eager to see who his side gets in the next round. 




Tuesday, March 8

Mamelodi Sundowns 6 (Ralani 2’, Zwane 4’, Kutumela 66’, 72’, Maboe 83’, Jali 88’) Mathaithai FC 0


Wednesday, March 9

Marumo Gallants 1 (Ndlondlo 20’pen) Orlando Pirates 1 (Shandu 30’)

After extra time; Gallants win 5-4 on penalties


Friday, March 11

Venda Football Academy 3 (Gama 16’, Tau 65’, Takwara 115’pen) University of Pretoria 3 (Sibanyoni 12’, Allan 74’pen, Makhubu 96’)

After extra-time; AmaTuks win 4-3 on penalties


Swallows FC 0 Royal AM 1 (Mahlasela 79’)


Saturday, March 12

Sinenkani FC 0 TTM 3 (Ndou 42’, Manzini 70’, Amoojee 90’)


Platinum City Rovers 0 SuperSport United 1 (Rasebotja 1’)


Sunday, March 13

Summerfield Dynamos 1 (Bodibe 92’og) Black Eagles 0

After extra-time


TS Galaxy 1 (Maluleke  76’og) Baroka FC 1 (Sithole 32’pen)

After extra-time; Baroka won 5-3 on penalties




Matches Played: 24

Goals Scored: 58

Biggest Victory: Mamelodi Sundowns 6 Mathaithai FC 0 (March 8, Last 16)

Most Goals in a Game: 6 – Mamelodi Sundowns 6 Mathaithai FC 0 (March 8, Last 16); Venda Football Academy 3-3 University of Pretoria (March 11, Last 16) 




2 goals – Sede Dion (Marumo Gallants), Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rotondwa Mutsivhuli (Venda Football Academy), Surprise Ralani (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1 – Keegan Allan (University of Pretoria), Naeem Amoojee (TTM), Simiso Bophela (Venda Football Academy), Siboniso Conco (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Rushine de Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Fakude (TS Sporting), Banele Gama (Venda Football Academy), Ruzaigh Gamildien (Swallows FC), Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates), Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Augustine Kwem (TS Galaxy), Delemo Lekhanya (African All Stars), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kabelo Mahlasela (Royal AM), Wonderboy Makhubu (University of Pretoria), Sabata Manele (Mathaithai), Rhulani Manzini (TTM), Lulama Maqoko (University of Pretoria), Thami Masiya (Baroka FC), Tsepo Matete (TTM), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Sanele Mgwaba (Black Eagles), Sibongiseni Mkhize (Sinenkani), Teboho Modise (Mathaithai), Luxolo Nabo (Black Eagles), Olwethu Ncube (Black Eagles), Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (Marumo Gallants), Simphiwe Ndlovu (Platinum City Rovers), Rendani Ndou (TTM), Mbongeni Ngcobo (FC Sivutsa), Lantshene Phalane (Royal AM), Kamogelo Pheeane (University of Pretoria), Selaelo Rasebotja (SuperSport United), Iqraam Rayners (SuperSport United), Pavol Safranko (Mamelodi Sundowns), Yagan Sasman (Swallows FC), Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates), Mphumelwa Shongwe (FC Sivutsa), Thabang Sibanyoni (University of Pretoria), Sekela Sithole (Baroka FC), Gerald Takwara (Venda Football Academy), Rankoko Tau (Venda Football Academy), Mcedi Vandala (Summerfield Dynamos), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Own goals – Tumelo Bodibe (Black Eagles), Sipho Maluleke (Baroka FC), Relebogile Mokhuoane (Cape Town City)