We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies
Latest News
3/12/2022 12:00:00 AM

SuperSport and TTM into Nedbank Cup quarterfinals

PIC: Thamsanqa Gabuza of SuperSport United challenged by Dineo Shaku of Platinum City Rovers

Selaelo Rasebotja scored his first ever goal in professional football inside the first minute of the game as SuperSport United edged second-tier Platinum City Rovers 1-0 in their Nedbank Cup Last 16 clash at Olen Park on Saturday.

The 20-year-old Rasebotja basted the ball into the back of the net after good work from Iqraam Rayners had set him up for the finish, as Matsatsantsa made the perfect start.

They did make heavy weather of it after that though, as Thamsanqa Gabuza missed a penalty in the first half that could have extended their advantage and made for a less nervy finish.

He struck the spot-kick to the right of goal but City Rovers goalkeeper Thabiso Mabitsela, making just his sixth ever appearance in professional football, got down to make the save.

SuperSport dominated the game after that in terms of possession, though chances for either side were few and far between. 

They hung on for the win and book a quarterfinal place for the first time since they lifted the trophy in 2017.

They also keep up their record of never having lost to lower league opposition in their history. 

GladAfrica Championship side TTM breezed past Eastern Cape ABC Motsepe League team Sinenkani FC 3-0 in the earlier game on Saturday that was played at Mthatha Stadium.

It did take 42 minutes for the visitors to break the deadlock, but the goal came at some cost. 

Rendani Ndou headed in Tumi Ngwepe’s cross, but in doing so also caught the head of a defender and his injury was so severe that he was rushed to hospital for further treatment.

The visitors made it 2-0 on 70 minutes when veteran former AmaZulu and Chippa United forward Rhulani Manzini doubled the advantage after being set up by Tlou Masegela.

That killed the game as a contest with Sinenkani never looking as though they could get back into it, and the third for the visitors arrived in the third minute of injury-time when Naeem Amoojee got his first goal since November, again set up by Masegela.   




Tuesday, March 8

Mamelodi Sundowns 6 (Ralani 2’, Zwane 4’, Kutumela 66’, 72’, Maboe 83’, Jali 88’) Mathaithai FC 0


Wednesday, March 9

Marumo Gallants 1 (Ndlondlo 20’pen) Orlando Pirates 1 (Shandu 30’)

After extra time; Gallants win 5-4 on penalties


Friday, March 11

Venda Football Academy 3 (Gama 16’, Tau 65’, Takwara 115’pen) University of Pretoria 3 (Sibanyoni 12’, Allan 74’pen, Makhubu 96’)

After extra-time; AmaTuks win 4-3 on penalties


Swallows FC 0 Royal AM 1 (Mahlasela 79’)


Saturday, March 12

Sinenkani FC 0 TTM 3 (Ndou 42’, Manzini 70’, Amoojee 90’)


Platinum City Rovers 0 SuperSport United 1 (Rasebotja 1’)




Sunday, March 13

15h00 – Summerfield Dynamos vs Black Eagles 

18h00 – TS Galaxy vs Baroka FC 




Matches Played: 22

Goals Scored: 55

Biggest Victory: Mamelodi Sundowns 6 Mathaithai FC 0 (March 8, Last 16)

Most Goals in a Game: 6 – Mamelodi Sundowns 6 Mathaithai FC 0 (March 8, Last 16); Venda Football Academy 3-3 University of Pretoria (March 11, Last 16) 




2 goals – Sede Dion (Marumo Gallants), Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rotondwa Mutsivhuli (Venda Football Academy), Surprise Ralani (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1 – Keegan Allan (University of Pretoria), Naeem Amoojee (TTM), Simiso Bophela (Venda Football Academy), Siboniso Conco (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Rushine de Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Fakude (TS Sporting), Banele Gama (Venda Football Academy), Ruzaigh Gamildien (Swallows FC), Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates), Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Augustine Kwem (TS Galaxy), Delemo Lekhanya (African All Stars), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kabelo Mahlasela (Royal AM), Wonderboy Makhubu (University of Pretoria), Sabata Manele (Mathaithai), Rhulani Manzini (TTM), Lulama Maqoko (University of Pretoria), Thami Masiya (Baroka FC), Tsepo Matete (TTM), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Sanele Mgwaba (Black Eagles), Sibongiseni Mkhize (Sinenkani), Teboho Modise (Mathaithai), Luxolo Nabo (Black Eagles), Olwethu Ncube (Black Eagles), Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (Marumo Gallants), Simphiwe Ndlovu (Platinum City Rovers), Rendani Ndou (TTM), Mbongeni Ngcobo (FC Sivutsa), Lantshene Phalane (Royal AM), Kamogelo Pheeane (University of Pretoria), Selaelo Rasebotja (SuperSport United), Iqraam Rayners (SuperSport United), Pavol Safranko (Mamelodi Sundowns), Yagan Sasman (Swallows FC), Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates), Mphumelwa Shongwe (FC Sivutsa), Thabang Sibanyoni (University of Pretoria), Gerald Takwara (Venda Football Academy), Rankoko Tau (Venda Football Academy), Mcedi Vandala (Summerfield Dynamos), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Own goals – Relebogile Mokhuoane (Cape Town City)