We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies
Latest News
2/13/2022 12:00:00 AM

Holders Marumo Gallants into Nedbank Cup Last 16

PIC: Riyaaz Nell of Santos FC is challenged by Miguel Timm and Lehlohonolo Nonyane

Ivorian forward Sede Dion scored twice as holders Marumo Gallants eased into the Last 32 of the Nedbank Cup with a 2-0 victory over third-tier Santos at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Sunday.

Dion provided two neat finishes from close range with typical poacher’s goals as he took his tally for the season to four.

Gallants never looked troubled by the Western Cape ABC Motsepe League side in sweltering conditions and coach Dan Malesela, who led TS Galaxy to the Nedbank Cup title in 2019, will be pleased with the professional performance. 

Dion’s first came as he was picked out in the box by Mpho Mvalese on 19 minutes, and it was 2-0 midway through the second half when he finished from inside the six-yard box after connecting with Katlego Otladisa’s clever cross.

Santos, who won the Nedbank Cup competition in 2001 and 2003, have fallen on hard times of late, but did have a number of recognizable names in their side, though most were on the bench.

The son of owner Goolam Allie, Suhayl, was one of those, along with former Witbank Spurs and Cape Town All Stars midfielder Slovo Mrawu. They failed to threaten their hosts though and barely had a sniff at goal.       

There was also an all-third tier clash on Sunday as Black Eagles of the North West ABC Motsepe League defeated Mpumalanga counterparts FC Sivutsa 3-2 in a five-goal thriller that went to extra-time.

The draw for the Last 16 of the Nedbank Cup will be held on Monday at 18h00 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport channel 202.

There will be eight sides from the DStv Premiership, with exactly half surviving the Last 32, as well as four each from the GladAfrica Championship and ABC Motsepe League.

That is the joint most third-tier sides ever to reach this stage of the competition, making the four that made it in 2020.

There has been at least one amateur side in the second round every year bar 2021, when teams from the SAFA structures did not take part in the competition due to the disruption to domestic sport by the COVID-19 pandemic.   



Friday, February 4 

University of Pretoria (0) 2 (Maqoko 80’, Pheeane 81’) Chippa United 0


Richards Bay 0 Mamelodi Sundowns (1) 4 (Ralani 24, De Reuck 54’, Safranko 70’, Shalulile 88’)


Saturday, February 5

Swallows FC (0) 2 (Sasman 48’, Gamildien 52’) TS Sporting 1 (Fakude ??’)


TTM (0) 1 (Matete 68’) Lamontville Golden Arrows (0) 1 (Conco 75’)

After extra time; TTM won 7-6 on penalties


Sunday, February 6 

Orlando Pirates (0) 1 (Hotto 53’) AmaZulu 0


Wednesday, February 9

Venda Football Academy 3 (Bophela 41’, Mutsivhuli 113’, 118’) Africa All Stars 1 (Lekhanya 19’pen)


Maritzburg United 0 SuperSport United 1 (Rayners 88’)


Friday, February 11 

Uthongathi 0 Summerfield Dynamos 1 (Vandala 22’)


Stellenbosch FC 0 Baroka FC 1 (Masiya 72’)


Saturday, February 12

NC Professionals 0 Mathaithai 2 (Modise 25’, Manele 33’) 


Platinum City Rovers 1 (Ndlovu 45’)  Sekhukhune United 1 (Maart 3’)

After extra time; City Rovers won 3-2 on penalties


Sinenkani FC 1 (Mkhize 74) Free State Stars 1 (Sekola 89’ pen) 

After extra time; Sinenkani won 10-9 on penalties


Royal AM 2 (Mokhuoane 50’og, Phalane 54’) Cape Town City 1 (Mayo 9’)


Kaizer Chiefs 0 TS Galaxy 1 (Kwem 54’)


Sunday, February 13

Black Eagles 3 FC Sivutsa 2

After extra-time


Marumo Gallants 2 (Dion 19’, 65’) Santos 0




Matches Played: 16

Goals Scored: 36

Biggest Victory: Richards Bay 0 Mamelodi Sundowns 4 (Feb. 4, Last 32)

Most Goals in a Game: 5 – Black Eagles 3 FC Sivutsa 2 (Feb 13, Last 32)




2 goals – Sede Dion (Marumo Gallants), Rotonswa Mutsivhuli (Venda Football Academy)

1 – Simiso Bophela (Venda Football Academy), Siboniso Conco (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Rushine de Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Fakude (TS Sporting), Ruzaigh Gamildien (Swallows FC), Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates), Augustine Kwem (TS Galaxy), Delemo Lekhanya (African All Stars), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United), Sabata Manele (Mathaithai), Lulama Maqoko (University of Pretoria), Thami Masiya (Baroka FC), Tsepo Matete (TTM), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Sibongiseni Mkhize (Sinenkani), Teboho Modise (Mathaithai), Simphiwe Ndlovu (Platinum City Rovers), Lantshene Phalane (Royal AM), Kamogelo Pheeane (University of Pretoria), Surprise Ralani (Mamelodi Sundowns), Iqraam Rayners (SuperSport United), Pavol Safranko (Mamelodi Sundowns), Yagan Sasman (Swallows FC), Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mcedi Vandala (Summerfield Dynamos)

Own goals – Relebogile Mokhuoane (Cape Town City)