5/4/2024 12:00:00 AM

Holders Orlando Pirates into Nedbank Cup final

PIC: Sinoxolo Kwayiba of Chippa United (left) is tackle by Thalente Mbatha of Orlando Pirates

Holders Orlando Pirates ensured they would appear in back-to-back Nedbank Cup finals following a 3-1 victory over Chippa United at a sold-out Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Gqeberha on Saturday. 
Kabelo Dlamini scored twice to go with a goal for Thapelo Xoki as Pirates maintained their 100% record in the Nedbank Cup semifinals with a sixth victory to book a place in the June 1 decider at the Mbombela Stadium.
They will have happy memories of that venue having lifted the first of their three Nedbank Cup titles in Mpumalanga in 2011 when they beat Black Leopards 3-1 in the decider.
They await the winner of Sunday’s second semifinal between Stellenbosch FC and Mamelodi Sundowns to see who they will face for the trophy.
No other club has managed six final appearances since the Nedbank Cup was first played in its current guise in 2008, though Sundowns could join them on that number on Sunday.
They got off to a fast start as Kabelo Dlamini had Pirates in front inside five minutes with a fine strike, before he doubled the advantage just before halftime.
The Chippa defence stopped playing and Dlamini was left with a tap-in.

Pirates were in cruise control at 2-0, but the home side kept fighting and pulled a goal back as former Buccaneers forward Bienvenu Eva Nga broke free on the right and his low cross was turned in by Elmo Kambindu.

It was game on from there, but Pirates made sure of the win when Xoki showed great athleticism to stretch and reach a cross at the back post and turn the ball into the net.

He joins Dlamini and seven other players at the top of the scorers charts on three goals in this year’s Nedbank Cup.

Chippa’s day got worse when Eva Nga was sent off for a second bookable offence late on in the game.

For Pirates, it is now 17 goals in four Nedbank Cup games this season, an amazing scoring record.

Coach Jose Riveiro also kept up his unbeaten run in the cup, winning a ninth successive tie since he took over at the Soweto giants at the start of last season.   



Saturday, May 4

Chippa United 1 (Kambindu 63’) Orlando Pirates 2 (Dlamini 5’, 41’, Xoki 81’)




Sunday, May 5

15h00: Stellenbosch FC vs Mamelodi Sundowns - Danie Craven Stadium



Matches Played: 29

Goals Scored: 86

Biggest Victory: Crystal Lake 0 Orlando Pirates 6 (February 24, Last 32)

Most Goals in a Game: 7 – NB La Masia 1 Mamelodi Sundowns 6 (February 20, Last 32); Milford 1 Stellenbosch FC 6 (March 15, Last 16) 



3 goals –
 Shandre Campbell (SuperSport United), Andre de Jong (Stellenbosch FC), Kabelo Dlamini (Orlando Pirates), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates), Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates), Anicet Oura (Stellenbosch FC), Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns), Devin Titus (Stellenbosch FC), Tapelo Xoki (Orlando Pirates)

2 – Delano Abrahams (University of Pretoria), Pule Ekstein (AmaZulu), Bienvenu Eva Nga (Chippa United), Thulani Gumede (Richards Bay), Thembinkosi Lorch (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1 – Emilio Abreu (Highlands Park), Mervin Boji (Stellenbosch FC), Bantu Chingi (Maritzburg United), Katlego Cwinyane (Hungry Lions), Leandro de Sousa (Pretoria Callies), Sede Dion (AmaZulu), Matias Esquivel (Mamelodi Sundowns), Taariq Fielies (AmaZulu), Justice Figuareido (Richards Bay), Kayden Francis (Chippa United), Fuad Johnson (NB La Masia), Elmo Kambindu (Chippa United), Victor Letsoalo (AmaZulu), Ghampani Lungu (SuperSport United), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphiwe Mahlangu (TS Galaxy), Makhehlene Makhaula (Orlando Pirates), Thabo Makhele (Chippa United), Tladi Makhetha (D'General), Douglas Mapfumo (Polokwane City), Terrence Mashego (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tholo Matuludi (Polokwane City), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Lwanda Mbanjwa (Moroka Swallows), Andile Mbenyane (Chippa United), Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates), Tebogo Mohlamonyane (University of Pretoria), Lehlohonolo Mojela (TS Galaxy), Lehlohonolo Morobi (NC Professionals), Sibusiso Mthethwa (Richards Bay), Nkosibonile Mtolo (FC Ravens), Mpho Mvelase (TS Galaxy), Samkelo Ngcungama (FC Ravens), Vuyani Ntanga (Spain FC), Samir Nurkovic (TS Galaxy), Roscoe Pietersen (Chippa United), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC), Lucas Ribeiro (Mamelodi Sundowns), Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Thabang Sibanyoni (University of Pretoria), Charles Sikhosana (D'General), Andiswa Sithole (Maritzburg United), Reagan van der Ross (Maritzburg United), Tresor Yamba (Sekhukhune United), Mlungisi Zwane (TS Galaxy)

Own goals – Adam Khumalo (Crystal Lake), Solomon Letsoenyo (TS Galaxy), Morena Monaheng (Hungry Lions)

Floating Button