3/13/2024 12:00:00 AM

AmaTuks see off Swallows to reach Nedbank Cup quarterfinals

PIC: Delano Abrahams of University of Pretoria is challenged by Sipho Sibiya of Moroka Swallows

Second-tier University of Pretoria have dumped a second topflight club out of the Nedbank Cup this season when they beat Moroka Swallows 2-1 in their Last 16 clash on Wednesday, having also sent Cape Town Spurs packing in the last round.
It means a quarterfinal ticket for AmaTuks, who were deserved winners on the night and full value for their victory.

The opening goal for AmaTuks came on 57 minutes and it was a well-taken strike from a rare scorer too. The ball fell to Tebogo Mohlamonyane near the edge of the box and his shot across goal nestled in the far corner of the net.

It was his first goal since November 2021 and the seventh of his career. He later had a golden chance for his second but skied his shot over the bar without a defender in sight.
Swallows had not created much all night but found an equaliser on 79 minutes through 17-year-old Lwanda Mbanjwa, who netted the first goal of his career.

He made his professional debut against Platinum City Rovers in the Last 32 and now has a goal to his name, and it was a beauty too.

Swallows worked the ball nicely in the box and when Mbanjwa picked it up 18 yards out, he curled a super shot into the back of the net.
The frame of the goal came to the rescue of Swallows twice in two minutes as they first hit the crossbar before Delano Abrahams saw his shot come off the woodwork.

They had by far the greater number of chances in the tie, but just lacked a little composure in the box. In truth, they could have won quite comfortably.        

But they did get their winner a minute into injury-time at the end of the game. It was another superb goal as a deep cross found its way to Thabang Sibanyoni and he rifled the ball into the back of the net from the edge of the box.

That was the 28-year-old’s seventh goal of the season and a second in the Nedbank Cup for the former Mamelodi Sundowns striker. It was a goal of real quality from a player who has also played in the topflight for SuperSport United and Sekhukhune United.  
AmaTuks extend their unbeaten run to 14 games (W9 D5) in all competitions dating back to early November and show why they are contenders for promotion to the DStv Premiership.

They also reach the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals for the second time in three years having also appeared there in 2022 when they lost 3-2 to Royal AM.

They are yet to reach a semifinal though since they were runners-up as a second-tier side in 2009 … losing in the final to Swallows.

The Birds keep up their unwanted remarkable record of not having reached the quarterfinals of the Nedbank Cup since that trophy win 15 years ago.

They have now gone out in the Last 32 on six occasions and the Last 16 on six as well. For a few years they did not compete as the club dropped down to the third-tier, but for such a famous old team, with some decent sides in that time, their form in this competition is baffling.  



Wednesday, March 13
University of Pretoria 2
(Mohlamonyane 58’, Sibanyoni 90’) Moroka Swallows 1 (Mbanjwa 79’)



Thursday, March 14
Sekhukhune United vs AmaZulu FC – Peter Mokaba Stadium


Friday, March 15
19h00: Milford FC vs Stellenbosch FC – Princess Magogo Stadium


Saturday, March 16
15h00: Chippa United vs FC Ravens – Buffalo City Stadium

15h00: Richards Bay vs SuperSport United – King Zwelithini Stadium
18h00: Orlando Pirates vs Hungry Lions – Orlando Stadium


Sunday, March 17

15h00: D’General vs TS Galaxy – Free State Stadium
18h00: Mamelodi Sundowns vs Maritzburg United – Lucas Moripe Stadium




Matches Played: 17

Goals Scored: 43

Biggest Victory: Crystal Lake 0 Orlando Pirates 6 (February 24, Last 32)

Most Goals in a Game: 7 – NB La Masia 1 Mamelodi Sundowns 6 (February 20, Last 32)



3 goals –
 Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2 – Thulani Gumede (Richards Bay), Tapelo Xoki (Orlando Pirates)

1 – Delano Abrahams (University of Pretoria), Emilio Abreu (Highlands Park), Shandre Campbell (SuperSport United), Bantu Chingi (Maritzburg United), Katlego Cwinyane (Hungry Lions), Leandro de Sousa (Pretoria Callies), Pule Ekstein (AmaZulu), Matias Esquivel (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bienvenu Eva Nga (Chippa United), Justice Figuareido (Richards Bay), Kayden Francis (Chippa United), Fuad Johnson (NB La Masia), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tladi Makhetha (D'General), Douglas Mapfumo (Polokwane City), Terrence Mashego (Mamelodi Sundowns), Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates), Tholo Matuludi (Polokwane City), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Lwanda Mbanjwa (Moroka Swallows), Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates), Tebogo Mohlamonyane (University of Pretoria), Lehlohonolo Mojela (TS Galaxy), Lehlohonolo Morobi (NC Professionals), Nkosibonile Mtolo (FC Ravens), Mpho Mvelase (TS Galaxy), Vuyani Ntanga (Spain FC), Thabang Sibanyoni (University of Pretoria), Charles Sikhosana (D'General), Andiswa Sithole (Maritzburg United), Devin Titus (Stellenbosch FC), Reagan van der Ross (Maritzburg United), Tresor Yamba (Sekhukhune United)

Own goals – Adam Khumalo (Crystal Lake), Solomon Letsoenyo (TS Galaxy)

Floating Button